New to the show scene

Basic nutrition information, show pig, sow, and boar feeding advice
Jdelgado

New to the show scene

Post by Jdelgado » Tue Jun 05, 2018 11:57 am

Hello everybody, my name is Jesse and I’m new to the show scene. I use to show back in the day but seems like a lot has changed since then. So this year I’m getting my nephew his first show pig and was wondering what everybody is feeding and how much? Any advice and info will be greatly appreciated. :D

cracklethepiglet
Power User
Power User

Re: New to the show scene

Post by cracklethepiglet » Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:38 am

Hi there! I'm no expert, but I've been raising pigs for the past three years and am giving you advice from my experienced leaders/show pig talks I've gone to. My leaders tell me to start at 3 lb. per day of food and work it up to 6 lb. per day. Not sure what your weight goal is though, and what you're starting with (for weight). For my pigs, we start at about 50 lb. and want to get into a range of 210 - 275 lb. You can also do free-feeding until they're about 150 lbs., then switch over to hand feeding, but it's usually recommended that you do hand feeding throughout. I personally use Show-Rite and know people that have been very successful with it (e.g. got grand champ). Purina is another popular brand. If you are in it to win it then you should get supplements once they're about 150 lb. to add to their feed. You should definitely make connections with and ask your breeder and leaders for more info, as they know more specifically what you're dealing with. I also advise going to events like talks; I've learned so much info from attending many. Good luck and welcome back!
Crackle the Piglet :D

Jdelgado

Post by Jdelgado » Wed Jun 06, 2018 8:49 am